Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Externships

Restrictions: A maximum of (3) periods may be spent off campus in externships.

Externships are NOT normally scheduled during the following periods without signed approval from the Associate Dean for Students Affairs and the Registrar's Office.

  • Period 10
  • Period 11

Requirements for Approval: The following forms must be completed for the externship to be approved:

  1. Externship Application
    These forms are available on the Forms page. The student must complete all requested information in Part I, which includes the signature of the sponsoring USF Department Director (below), and submit the form to the Registrar's Office for approval. You must complete one form per site/specialty, e.g.

    1. Two surgery applications at Institution X = 1 form
    2. One surgery application at Institution X and One surgery application at Institution Y = 2 forms
    3. One Internal Med application at Institution X and One surgery application at Institution x = 2 forms
  2. Host Institution Application Form

    Most Medical School will require completion of their application form or an application via VSAS.
  3. Proof of Emergency Medical Insurance (if applicable)
    Students traveling internationally must contact USF Medicine International (http://health.usf.edu/medicine/ia/travel_guidelines.htm) and are required to complete the international travel registration process and purchase the University’s travel medical and evacuation insurance.
  4. Communication
    Students away from campus on externships are required to keep the Registrar's Office informed of their exact whereabouts so they can be located in the event of an emergency.
  5. Non University Externships: This type of program should be arranged between the USF Departmental Chairperson and the Chief of the hospital service (who in turn is responsible for obtaining any further approval required by the hospital governing body). The USF College of Medicine Application for Externship Course must be completed.
    Under unique circumstances tutorial experience with clinicians in practice may be arranged through the Departmental Chairperson and the Dean of the College of Medicine.
  6. Externship Evaluation: All externships require a written evaluation of the student's performance at the conclusion of such elective periods. This evaluation must be submitted to the Registrar's Office for processing. Students should take an evaluation form with them to the externship. It is the student's responsibility to ensure that the Registrar's Office receives an evaluation form from the host institution.

  7. Guidelines and Tips: Click here for additional information discussed at the class meeting (filling out forms, alternate school dates, malpractice coverage, etc.).

  8. Fingerprinting, Background checks, Drug screens, Immunizations, etc.: Click here

            1. Year 3 Clerkship Dates 2017-2018: Core and SELECT

Department
Signatory (Dept Director)
Email
Coordinator
Email
Signatory LVHN
Email
Coordinator LVHN
Email
Anesthesiology
UME Dean/Stu Aff Dean
kzwygart@health.usf.edu
  
Thomas McLoughlin
Thomas.McLoughlin@lvhn.org
Anne Vanderpool
Anne_F.Vanderpool@lvhn.org
Dermatology
Nishit Patel
npatel1@health.usf.edu
Kandi Smith
ksmith3@health.usf.edu
    
Emergency Medicine
Kevin O'Brien
kobrien@health.usf.edu
Barbara Pearce
bpearce@health.usf.edu
Charles Worrilow
Charles.Worrilow@lvhn.org
Dawn Yenser
Dawn.Yenser@lvhn.org
Family Medicine
Eduardo Gonzalez
egonzale@health.usf.edu
Linda Giordano
lgiordan@health.usf.edu
Veronica Brohm
Veronica_M.Brohm@lvhn.org
Crystal Walker
Crystal.Walker@lvhn.org
Internal Medicine
Kevin O'Brien
kobrien@health.usf.edu
Barbara Pearce
bpearce@health.usf.edu
Thomas Doherty
Thomas_W.Doherty@lvhn.org 
Melissa Keyser
Melissa.Keyser@lvhn.org
Neurology
Rebecca Hurst
rlhurst@health.usf.edu
Shereena Farrington
sfarring@health.usf.edu
Jay Varrato
Jay.Varrato@lvhn.org
Laura Hotchkiss
laura_l.hotchkiss@lvhn.org
Neurosurgery
Fernando Vale
fvale@health.usf.edu
Kelly Thompson
kpthompson@health.usf.edu
  
Anne Vanderpool
Anne_F.Vanderpool@lvhn.org
ObGyn
James Mayer
jmayer@health.usf.edu
Melissa Mancao
 mjmancao@health.usf.edu
Jones, Stephanie-Marie
Stephanie-Ma_L.Jones@lvhn.org
Julie Gualano
Julie_A.Gualano@lvhn.org
Ophthalmology
Ramesh Ayyala
rayyala@health.usf.edu
Stacy DeRaps
sparkerd@health.usf.edu
  
Anne Vanderpool
Anne_F.Vanderpool@lvhn.org
Orthopaedics
Hassan Mir
hmir@floridaortho.com
Nikki Rives
nrives@health.usf.edu
    
Otolaryngology
Thomas McCaffrey
tmccaffr@health.usf.edu
Kayla McCollum
kmcoll2@health.usf.edu
  
Anne Vanderpool
Anne_F.Vanderpool@lvhn.org
Pathology
Anne Champeaux
achampea@health.usf.edu
Michelle Burnham
mburnham@health.usf.edu
    
Pediatrics
Nathan Brinn
nabrinn@health.usf.edu
Carie McGugin
cmcgugin@health.usf.edu
Adam Paul
Adam_R.Paul@lvhn.org
Kate Adams
Katherine.Adams@lvhn.org
Psychiatry
Saundra Stock
sstock@health.usf.edu
Pat Crump
pcrump@health.usf.edu 
Katherine Martin
Katherine_B.Martin@lvhn.org
Natalie Knerr
Natalie.Knerr@lvhn.org
Radiation-Oncology
Thomas Dilling
Thomas.Dilling@moffitt.org
Angie Courtney
Angie.Courtney@moffitt.org
    
Radiology
Todd Hazelton
thazelto@health.usf.edu
Tracy Colley
tcolley@health.usf.edu
    
Surgery 
Jaime Sanchez
jasanche@health.usf.edu
Margaret Child
mmchild@health.usf.edu
Joseph Stirparo
Joseph_J.Stirparo@lvhn.org
Anne Vanderpool
Anne_F.Vanderpool@lvhn.org

 

 

  • No labels