Child pages
  • Independent Studies
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Independent Studies

Restrictions: A maximum of (3) periods may be spent in independent study.

Requirements for Approval: The following forms must be completed for the externship to be approved:

 

  • Independent Study Application
    These forms are available on the Forms page. The student must complete all requested information in Part I, complete Part II with the help of their faculty supervisor and obtain signatures from their faculty supervisor, the department director (below) and the Assistant Dean for Clinical Curriculum and submit the form to the Registrar's Office for approval.

 

  • Independent studies are typically completed entirely on campus. Should the independent study project take you out of the country for any length of time, you must contact USF Medicine International (http://health.usf.edu/medicine/ia/travel_guidelines.htm) and are required to complete the international travel registration process and purchase the University’s travel medical and evacuation insurance.

    Form Due: 6 weeks before the start of the rotation
  • Independent Study Self-Assessment and Evaluation: All independent studies require a written evaluation of the student's performance at the conclusion of such elective periods. This evaluation must be submitted to the Registrar's Office for processing.  It is the student's responsibility to initiate the evaluation process and ensure that the Registrar's Office receives an evaluation form.

 

Department
Signatory (Dept Director)
Email
Coordinator
Email
Signatory LVHN
Email
Coordinator LVHN
Email
Anesthesiology
UME Dean/Stu Aff Dean
kkz@usf.edu
  
Thomas McLoughlin
Thomas.McLoughlin@lvhn.org
Anne Vanderpool
Anne_F.Vanderpool@lvhn.org
Anatomy
Srinivas Bharadwaj
sribharadwaj@usf.edu
N/A
N/A
N/A
N/A
  
Dermatology
Nishit Patel
nishit@usf.edu
Laura Cessna
lcessna1@usf.edu
    
Emergency Medicine
Kevin O'Brien
obrienk@usf.edu
Barbara Pearce
bpearce@usf.edu
Charles Worrilow
Charles.Worrilow@lvhn.org
Dawn Yenser
Dawn.Yenser@lvhn.org
Family Medicine
Eduardo Gonzalez
egonzale@usf.edu
Linda Giordano
lindag@usf.edu
Veronica Brohm
Veronica_M.Brohm@lvhn.org
Crystal Walker
Crystal.Walker@lvhn.org
Internal Medicine
Kevin O'Brien
obrienk@usf.edu
Barbara Pearce
bpearce@usf.edu
James Ross
James.Ross@lvhn.org
Melissa Keyser
Melissa.Keyser@lvhn.org
Molec Pharm Physio
Javier Cuevas
jcuevas@usf.edu
N/A
N/A
N/A
N/A
  
Neurology
Rebecca Hurst
rlhurst@usf.edu
Shereena Farrington
sfarring@usf.edu
Jay Varrato
Jay.Varrato@lvhn.org
Mark Bolden
Mark.Bolden@lvhn.org
Neurosurgery
Mark Greenberg
msg@usf.edu
Kelly Thompson
kpthompson@usf.edu
  
Anne Vanderpool
Anne_F.Vanderpool@lvhn.org
ObGyn
David Rapkin
drapkin@usf.edu
Melissa Mancao
mjmancao@usf.edu
Stephanie-Marie Jones
Stephanie-marie_l.jones@lvhn.org
Julie Gualano
Julie_A.Gualano@lvhn.org
Ophthalmology
Swetangi Bhaleeya
sbhaleeya@usf.edu
  
Anne Vanderpool
Anne_F.Vanderpool@lvhn.org
Orthopaedics
Hassan Mir
hmir@floridaortho.com
Nikki Rives
nrives@health.usf.edu
    
Otolaryngology
Thomas McCaffrey
tmccaffr@usf.edu
Kayla Scott
kmscott2@usf.edu
  
Anne Vanderpool
Anne_F.Vanderpool@lvhn.org
Pathology
Anne Champeaux
achampea@usf.edu
Michelle Burnham
mburnham@usf.edu
    
Pediatrics
Nathan Brinn
nabrinn@usf.edu
Carie McGugin
cmcgugin@usf.edu
Adam Paul
Adam_R.Paul@lvhn.org
Tammy Winterhalt
Tammy.Winterhalt@lvhn.org
Psychiatry
Saundra Stock
sstock@usf.edu
Pat Crump
pcrump@usf.edu
Siddhartha Maru
Siddhartha.Maru@lvhn.org
Aubrey Reeves
Aubrey.reeves@lvhn.org    
Radiation-Oncology
Thomas Dilling
Thomas.Dilling@moffitt.org
Angie Courtney
Angie.Courtney@moffitt.org
    
Radiology
Todd Hazelton
thazelto@usf.edu
Destiny McArthur
dmcarthur@usf.edu
    
Surgery 
Jaime Sanchez
jasanche@usf.edu
Margaret Child
mmchild@usf.edu
Joseph Stirparo
Joseph_J.Stirparo@lvhn.org
Anne Vanderpool
Anne_F.Vanderpool@lvhn.org

 

 

  • No labels